The new Kenyan e-Passport is here! On September 1st the electronic passport was launched in Kenya. But what exactly does that mean and how does it affect Kenyans in Germany?

A new level of safety is provided with the new e-Passport. It is a combination of paper and an electronic chip, which makes it more difficult to copy the passport. It also prevents unauthorised reading or skimming of the data that is saved on the chip. With the Automated Fingerprint Verification System (AFIS) they prohibit that a person can hold multiple passports at the same time. Another advantage is that travellers can get through gates a lot qicker.

Besides the electronic chip and the fingerprint system the e-Passport also holds a digital photo of the passholder and security features. The passport details will be registered with the International Civil Aviation Organization (ICAO).



Validity of the old Passport and Application for the new e-Passport

The current non-electronic passport is valid until august 31st 2019, after that they have to be renewed. If you have applied for a passport before september 1st, you will get the old passport which is still only valid for two years. But there is one exception: If the documents have left the embassy in Berlin after september 1st, you will get the electronic one. You will only have to fill in a few more forms.

You can apply for the e-Passport on eCitizen portal online and you will only have to send your application forms to the Kenyan embassy in Berlin. The new passports won´t be printed any longer in Berlin but in Nairobi. There they can process approximitely 2000 passports a day, which means the processing duration won’t be longer than before.

Holders of the biometric residence permit will have to inform the Ausländerbehörde (aliens department) about the new passport. Holders of the old, most porabably unlimited residence permit will have to replace it with the new biometric residence permit.

The e-Passport will also be introduced to East African Countries like Ruanda, Kenya, Tansania, Uganda, Burundi and southern Sudan.